More teacher training and another schedule change coming

Hi everyone!  I haven’t posted in a while so I thought I’d check in.  I just got back from a week of teacher training with Tias and Surya Little of Prajna Yoga.  I finished my 200 hour training with them a couple of years ago and then recently got the itch to go back to Santa Fe.  The training this past week was my first 500 hour module!  I have no idea when (or if) I’ll ever finish my 500 hour training, but I was really excited about starting these modules because they are more practical than theoretical.  Practicums = tons of ideas that I can apply directly to may own practice and to my classes.

This week was all about working therapeutically – either with beginners or students with injuries chronic or otherwise.  Perfect for my current schedule!  If you’re wondering where I get my adoration of props, a lot of it comes from Tias and Surya, and this week certainly did not disappoint in terms of nifty prop set ups.  Each day I learned something that made me go, “OMG, that’s so cool, and helpful, and I can’t wait to try it myself and then show it to my students!!!!”.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, you don’t need to be a large yogi yourself to have something to offer to larger yogis, but you do have to know bodies (all types of bodies) and you have to be sensitive, caring and genuinely excited to work with whomever walks through your door.

Teacher training isn’t all sunshine and rainbows, of course.  I still have to deal with being the only larger person in the room, with very curious fellow teachers who want to talk to me about it.  I generally don’t mind and even welcome questions, but when you are already frustrated, it can be difficult.  There was one day (as there usually is) where I felt totally inadequate, weak and like I didn’t deserve to be there.  But then I mentioned some of that to a few fellow trainees and found out I wasn’t the only one who felt that way!  That, to me, is the real magic of teacher training.  Still, I always manage to do something that I would not have thought was possible

This time my “impossible” thing was several variations of halasana (plough) pose and sarvangasana (shoulder stand).  You might know them as “death by boob smush” (coined by Anna!).  Using chairs and bolsters, I was able to get into versions of these poses (supported and less supported) for the first time in years.  Much more coming on this later – the prop configurations are involved and I haven’t (yet!) really resolved the boob smush issue – but the point is that I never would have tried those poses on my own.  My brain and my heart are the real obstacles sometimes.

Switching gears for a moment, I wanted to give you a heads up on yet another schedule change (hoping this is the last one for a while!).  Starting the week of November 4th, 2013, I’ll be switching to a Tuesday/Wednesday schedule at Golden Heart Yoga.  So I’ll still be teaching Gentle/Beginner Hatha and Yoga for Larger Bodies on Tuesdays.  And then I’ll be teaching Mixed-Level Hatha on Wednesdays.  Another teacher will takeover my Thursday 6:00pm Gentle/Beginner Hatha class.  Honestly, I’m happiest when I have a mix of classes on my schedule so I’m really excited about this change.  If you are confused about when I’m teaching, my group class schedule is here.  I try to keep it current.

See you in class!

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright © 2012-2014 Annie Carlin/Supportive Yoga

    If you'd like to use any Supportive Yoga photos or content, please make sure you link back to this site! If you have any questions, please email me at annie@supportiveyoga.com

