Yoga Clothing for Larger Bodies UPDATE

When I check my search terms (and stop giggling about some of the wackier ones), I notice that many of you find my blog by looking for yoga and workout clothes for those of us with larger bodies.  Cute, functional workout clothes above a size large can be really hard to find,which sucks, and seems ridiculous given the incredible social pressure on larger folks to exercise (but that’s a whole ‘nother post).

You can check out my original post here if you haven’t seen it yet, but I did want to add a few more options for you.

My favorite yoga pants of all time are from Tek Gear, which I find at Kohls.  I have several pairs in a size large, which are plenty loose on me (this is NOT TYPICAL – usually I’m wearing at least an extra large in yoga pants).  They are soft, comfy and don’t move around too much.  PRO TIP: I especially like wearing fold down waist pants because you can choose not to fold the waist down and get then all sorts of coverage around your tummy area.

I mentioned Target in my last post, but wanted to highlight that they have a large selection of sports bras that go up to XXL. I also love to wear Fruit of the Loom Extreme Comfort Bras (very inexpensive, find them at Wal-Mart)- I find these are plenty supportive for my usual yoga practice.  If you need more support for higher impact activites, you could layer a sports bra over the fruit of the loom bra.  As I mentioned in my previous post, us larger ladies usually need to double up sports bras anyways.

UPDATED TO ADD: I knew I forgot something…check out JCPenney’s xersion line – plus sizes go up to 3x.  I have a few xersion pieces and they tend to be cute and well made. 

What are your favorite resources for yoga or workout gear?

*I was not compensated (sadly – heh) in any way by these companies

Comments
5 Responses to “Yoga Clothing for Larger Bodies UPDATE”
  1. Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so
    I came to give it a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and
    will be tweeting this to my followers! Terrific blog
    and brilliant design and style.

  2. Jenn Goodridge says:

    From time to time Eddie Bauer carries some nice active wear in plus sizes. I’ve got a couple nice pairs of pants that are great for yoga. The shirts, especially the organic ones seem to run small and shrink after washing though.

    This was a great topic to post about! Lots of resources I wasn’t aware of! Practically everything I have is from Old Navy and they don’t tend to switch up their inventory very often.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] (not enough though!) if you know where to look!  I posted Yoga Clothing for Larger Bodies and an update later in the year to let you know what my favorite yoga clothing resources […]



Leave a Reply

  • Copyright © 2012-2014 Annie Carlin/Supportive Yoga

    If you'd like to use any Supportive Yoga photos or content, please make sure you link back to this site! If you have any questions, please email me at annie@supportiveyoga.com

