Gratitude

Ah Thanksgiving…whether it’s an occasion to spend time with family and friends or just an excuse to eat your weight in stuffing, this holiday is a great opportunity to cultivate gratitude.

We should probably be cultivating gratitude all the time, but it doesn’t hurt to have a reminder.  I know I have a lot to be thankful for, and I’m guessing you do too.  As a yoga teacher though, I would like to add one more thing to your list.

This Thanksgiving, I invite you to take a moment to be thankful to your body.  Your body as it is today. Not how it was, not how it will be, but your body in its current form. 

Whatever feelings you may have toward your body – I’m asking you to put them aside, at least for this one day, and be grateful.   Grateful that you are alive.  That you breathe, that you move, that you love.  Give thanks to your body: a support, a trusted friend – that carries you through life every single day.

Your body isn’t perfect – what does that even mean?  Nothing is perfect – and I’m not sure that perfection is even something we should strive for.  I’m not perfect, but my body doesn’t reject me because of it.  How can I, then, reject my body for not meeting some unattainable and likely meaningless measure?

Thanksgiving Day Short Meditation and Yoga Practice:

Sit in a comfortable position for around 5 minutes (longer if you like).  As you inhale repeat to yourself, “I support my body.” As you exhale, repeat “I am grateful to the support my body gives me.”

Once you have completed your mediation.  Do a lateral side bend and a gentle twist (good for detoxifying the organs after too much turkey) on each side.

Finish with a nice restorative downward dog and then go get some pie!

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Comments
2 Responses to “Gratitude”
  1. I’m thankful for my heart. It has never stopped beating. Not even once! I don’t even have to tell it what to do! Om Shanti!

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright © 2012-2014 Annie Carlin/Supportive Yoga

    If you'd like to use any Supportive Yoga photos or content, please make sure you link back to this site! If you have any questions, please email me at annie@supportiveyoga.com

