Keeping warm

Hi Everyone,

I wanted to let you know that I have not dropped off the face of the earth!  More awesome yoga hacks, sequences and goodies are coming your way once we get some more photos taken and I get a little more organized.

In the meantime, if you live in the northern hemisphere location that has seasons, you may have noticed that it’s getting colder!  I love the advent of sweaters, blankets and extra snuggles with my sweetie and cats, but I do seem to always underestimate how cold it is outside or in my office, when blankets and snuggles are unavailable.  Luckily, there are a few yoga tricks I can employ to help keep myself warm.  Yoga is very good at regulating various body systems including temperature.

1. Ujjayi breathing.

Ujjayi (victorious in Sanskrit) breath is used in vigorous practices like astanga vinyasa yoga to build heat.   Though I’m not a fan of excessive heat in my own yoga practice, I will employ the method if I need to keep warm!  It works well and fast – and you can do it almost anywhere.  You talk deep inhales and exhales through your nose, making a sound like the ocean (or Darth Vader if you prefer).  The sound is created though a slight constriction in the back of the throat.  You can breathe out through your mouth at first to get the hang of the sound, but eventually you want breathe in and out of the nose exclusively.

2. Backbends

Backbends tend to be heating poses and can help get your blood flowing and keep you warm in the winter.  No need to bust out full wheel in your office, but I admit I’ve done different variations of wheel pose on the wall at work.

3. Sun Saluations

Abbreviated or full, supported or not.  Sun Salutations heat in the body.  Great to do at home if you don’t have cats or blankets handy and your heat isn’t on or at full force yet.

How do you keep warm? What are your favorite warming yoga practices to do?

Comments
One Response to “Keeping warm”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] in your yoga mood lighting.  If you are cold because your heat is electric, try my tips for staying warm and if you are panicky, try some restorative poses to calm […]



Leave a Reply

  • Copyright © 2012-2014 Annie Carlin/Supportive Yoga

    If you'd like to use any Supportive Yoga photos or content, please make sure you link back to this site! If you have any questions, please email me at annie@supportiveyoga.com

