Sequence Wednesdays: Supported Full Sun Salutation A

You’ve seen me use a bolster to support the dreaded chaturanga to upward dog transition.  Now, I will demonstrate doing all of Sun Salutation (Surya Namaskar) A with the bolster handy to support you.  This is one of my favorite things to do in my home practice and it really helps make the sun salutation more accessible to more students.  I teach this in my plus size series class all the time.

Disclaimer: This feels a little bit like cheating since I’ve spent a lot of time on this material, but I think it’s worth sharing the whole caboodle with you.  Yes, caboodle.  PS. Does anyone remember caboodle cosmetic boxes ? I LOVED that stuff when I was a pre-teen! (but I digress…)

Ahem, so to start, place the bolster in the middle of the mat – toward the front.  It take a few tries to get it in the right (or should I say, least awkward) place.  Then stand over it – your feet will obviously not be together or even shoulder width apart, but that’s alright.  It’s a steadier base anyways.

Step 2: Swan dive over your legs to uttanasana (standing forward bend) with your back as straight as possible.  You can bend your legs here and bring your palms or head to the bolster.

Step 3:  Come to a flat back and then fold forward once again into uttanasana.

Step 4: Bend your knees, plant your hands and then step one foot back and then the other to a plank position.  The step back and step forward are the most awkward part of the shebang and I’d love it if anyone had any suggestions for making it a little less odd-feeling.

Step 5: Lower down into chaturanga supported onto the bolster.  Move through the upward facing dog.

Step 6: Tuck your toes, lift your hips and come into downward facing dog.  If you can rest your head onto the bolster, this feels extra awesome!  Hold for 5+ breaths.

Step 7: Step one foot forward and then the other.  Normally, you’d step up your feet between your hands, but you can’t do that with the bolster there, so I just aim for somewhere near my hands and adjust as I go to get back into my uttanasana.  It’s totally awkward, but, I think, worth it.

Step 8: Reverse your swan dive and come all the way up to stand once again into urdva hastasana.  And then repeat the series as often as you’d like!

Comments
4 Responses to “Sequence Wednesdays: Supported Full Sun Salutation A”
  1. Mir says:

    Fantastic!!. I love your sequences!!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] photos so I’m not going to repost them here) and then after a few rounds, going for the full sun salutation (supported of course). Try as much as possible to link your breath with your movement.  Allow your […]

  2. […] or full, supported or not.  Sun Salutations heat in the body.  Great to do at home if you don’t have cats or […]

  3. […] for a supportive practice and I use them in so  many asanas, including wheel, supta virasana, and supported sun salutation A.  If I had to choose a favorite use (don’t make me!), I’d have to go with using […]



Leave a Reply

  • Copyright © 2012-2014 Annie Carlin/Supportive Yoga

    If you'd like to use any Supportive Yoga photos or content, please make sure you link back to this site! If you have any questions, please email me at annie@supportiveyoga.com

